Skip to content

Tree-free, tear-resistant, waterproof paper!!

November 6, 2009

     As a design student, I am always looking for ways to make my work stand out. I found about Yupo synthetic papers several years ago when I saw an ad in HOW. At the time, I thought the paper was really rad but I had no application for it. However… as I get closer to graduation I am thinking more and more about how I can market myself to design firms and freelance clients. I am always interested in different printing techniques or materials that make things stand apart (like these really cool clear business cards or these minicards) so recently I requested a sample pack from Yupo. This paper is waterproof and will not tear! Yupo is even 100% recyclable, tree-free, toxin-free, chlorine-free, sulfur-free, and reusable.

     With the “green” market going stronger than ever, the sustainability of design has never been a more current topic. Lots of clients these days are asking questions about how things are printed, where things are made, and what impact they will leave on the Earth. This knowledge benefits the designer as well; sustainable design is a major selling-point these days! What sets you apart as a designer is being able to talk to your customers about why you make the choices you do about your work.

PS: If you, too, are working on designing your business cards… Flickr’s business card pool has some really inspiring references! Happy designing!

– Hannah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

