Skip to content

Getting Involved…

November 17, 2009

As an ASID Student member, I recently received an email about participating in a new program the local ASID professional chapter is offering.  The “Rent-A-Student” program includes participating in the final phases of a design project for a local Tucson Interior Designer.  The 4- to 8-hour commitment includes an hourly rate of $10/hour (which is given to the ASID Student Club), the opportunity to meet and work with professional designers, and the ability to include the experience on a resume.  I have yet to volunteer (I’m just so busy blogging!), but plan to over the long break between semesters.  I’ll keep you posted…

Yesterday, I was handed a big fat envelope filled with raffle tickets.  Yep, I’m hitting up everyone in my path to help the fundraising efforts of the ASID Student Chapter for the 2010 ASID Design Excellence Gala & Awards Ceremony.  The prizes are incredible (like a night’s stay at Hacienda del Sol, or furniture from Herman Miller!) and will be announced at the annual Gala on January 30th (winners need not be present).  I’m debating how many I can afford (they are $10 a piece or 4 for $30) and already anguishing over how I will manage to schlep around my prize wearing my formal gown and heels (I REALLLLLY want the 10 yards of fabric from POLLACK!).  Nothing like Putting on the Ritz in a makeshift wrap of fabric…

A recent sign-up sheet appeared at the school’s front desk for volunteering with the Habitat for Humanity Project through the ASID Student Chapter.  Students are paired with professional designers in planning and designing homes for 4 Tucson families in need.  The project begins in January and consists of 4 teams competing for the most successful interior.  Personally, I know that the new semester begins in January (and I have a pretty full load), but the volunteer hours are flexible and you are not required to commit through the entire stages of design.  Take a walk over to the Administration Building, sign-up, and get ready to roll up your sleeves for a good cause!  For more information, contact Diana Patterson, ASID at 577-3187 or Lisa Reeves, Allied Member ASID at 326-1172.

I’ve made a conscious decision to get more involved this next year and plan to post as many opportunities as I can so EVERYONE can get involved, too.  I’ve just listed three (and, of course, there are TONS more) so please get out there, have fun, and help with whatever cause you want to!  

Design Diction of the Day~ Detail Drawings: Used in architectural drafting/exterior framing through sectional drawings, exploded views, or pictorials.  Information is shown in detail that would not be drawn on a framing elevation.  

~Jules, ID/LA

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

