Skip to content

Oh no, it’s 3-Dimensions!

January 22, 2010

     Recently I had the privilege of attending the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Vegas and what a wondrous thing it was. We’re talking miles upon miles of juicy, nerd bursting, electronics and technology. And while it was yummy eye candy for my soul, I noticed a trend of similar technology on display that kind of confused me. What was this over abundance of perplexing tech? 3D TVs for the consumer! And what makes it interesting is that you don’t need 3D glasses!
     Let’s take it back a step and revisit Coraline, a wonderful stop motion film, done in 3D. It was the first 3D film I had seen in a long time. The 3D technology used, albeit antiquated, was much cooler than those old blue and red goggles I grew up with. When I saw Coraline I figured the 3D effect, like always, was a passing fad, but I was wrong. Soon many other movies followed, Monsters vs. Aliens, Up, A Christmas Carol, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, and now Avatar, just to name a few. So what does this mean? I can’t help but feel that these recent events are more of a corporate decision rather than an artistic one. And if that is the case, you can expect to see many more 3D-type devices becoming mainstream.
     Let’s go back to 3D TVs. Was it cool seeing 3D images without the use of glasses? Sort of. While the experience was really cool and unique, the picture is definitely lacking in quality. Unless you’re absolutely still the illusion of 3D is replaced with a quasi-blurry image, hence my aforementioned confusion! To me it seems like this technology isn’t ready to compete with current LED and Plasma screens with Hi-def output. I don’t know about you, but I have a hi-def TV with an output of 1080p and with my blu-ray player and HDMI cables, movies are AMAZING!!!!! The picture is wicked clear… so clear, it’s scary. I’m not going to be trading it in anytime soon for a 3D TV. But perhaps 3D TVs are a novel approach to something greater. Or maybe it’s corporate America pushing for change? Whatever the case, there’s no doubt that artistically 3D can be used to immerse an audience in a uniquely astonishing experience that can transcend conventional storytelling. Or it can be used as a gimmick. Let’s hope it’s not the latter. Have fun, and keep creating.

Emmett-AN

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

