Skip to content

Adobe CS5 to be released in April!!!

January 27, 2010

    I know, I know. You’re finally getting used to all of the quirks of CS4 and now you start to hear that CS5 will be out before the end of summer. Ah, technology. Can’t live without it. In the design field, being technologically up-to-date is key. This means that you’re always right at the cusp of new goings-on in the field, but unfortunately, it also means you’re constantly having to shell out some cash for the latest and greatest.

     I, for one, have resolved to officially purchase this next edition of the Adobe Creative Suite software. I am thankful for the Art Center’s state-of-the-art facilities (which I utilize constantly… This could be why I am always on campus) however, my personal copy of the Creative Suite is pretty outdated. Laugh all you want, but I’ve still got CS2 on my home computer (hey, cut me some slack – I know lots of other students who are using this supposedly antiquated system!). Needless to say, I think it’s time for an upgrade.

     To whet my curiosity, I searched for some CS5 sneak peeks. We can all guess that Photoshop will gain more 3D and animation capabilities, but what else? In Photoshop CS5, brushes will be a lot more intuitive and realistic – very similar to the way they function in Corel Painter. There is a 3D element to using brushes that will allow you to alter the angle at which a brush is “held” and also the pressure of each brushstroke (in a way that much more closely resembles reality than CS4 brushes). I for one am both excited and skeptical about this function… I’m fostering a new love for digital painting, and am still getting comfortable with the concept, so you can understand my trepidation at having to relearn to use Photoshop brushes. Like all new technology, I suppose it will just take some getting used to.

     Flash in CS5 will aparently be able to create games and interfaces directly for the iPhone, as well have have improved ActionScripting functions, and, of course, changes to the interface. Since I am a bit of a Flash noob, I’ll take this opportunity to link to some content written by Adobe about known problems with Flash CS4, corrections to those problems, and new features to be added here.

     Another big change with CS5 is that it will be Intel-compatible only. PowerPC compatability is not being developed for CS5. Adobe seems to have followed Apple’s lead on this change. It’s been speculated that the reason for this change is that if a consumer isn’t hasn’t updated their hardware in over four years (when Apple made the switch), they aren’t likely to change their software, either.

    As one of those rare breeds that actually like InDesign for page layout and Illustrator for vector work, I am always excited to see new features added to these programs, although I haven’t found any official word on things to come. Keep your ears peeled, and if you hear anything worth repeating, please comment below for your fellow designers!

– Hannah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

