Skip to content

A Personal Spin on an Old Favorite

February 9, 2010

Not much time today but I wanted give an update on (or introduce you to) one of my personal projects, turned anticipated assignment, a dark re-imagining of The Jungle Book. The image you see here was one of my first digital painting assignments. The goal was to do an animal in Photoshop or Corel Painter. This was executed entirely in Photoshop and is no doubt responsible for my couple of year-long fascination with digital rendering.

King Louie?

Absolutely, while the “King of the Swingers” was not originally in The Jungle Book, he’s definitely my favorite Disney addition to original story. While the monkeys are without law and without order, it is inevitable a king, a master of mischief, will eventually rise.

Here are a few sketches I’m working with. The final output will be oil on canvas. When this project is finished I’ll have at least four paintings. I’ve decided on Bagheera and Baloo (probably together), Mowgli and the wolves, Hathi (the elephant general) and of course Shere Khan.

I doubt I’ll be redoing King Louie in oils due to time constraints. But who knows?

Throughout the course of the term I’ll try to post my progress. I’m open to any suggestions and any feedback is most sincerely welcome.

– J. Hall

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 6:17 PM

    I’ve always loved that piece! Looking forward to seeing the rest of the group come to life! Really nice sketches! Congrats on the jack black panda addy award as well! See you at the addys! – Scott

  2. February 10, 2010 10:51 AM

    Nice post, Jared! I can’t wait to see the finished pieces!

    – Hannah

Leave a Reply

